The Guff

Sunday Secrets: Wistfulness

In The Pile on March 20, 2011 at 5:50 pm

PostSecret

Today is a Sunday. That means we’re going to talk about PostSecret. What’s PostSecret? Well, according to Wikipedia:

“PostSecret is an ongoing community mail art project, created by Frank Warren, in which people mail their secrets anonymously on a homemade postcard.”

But it’s blank, inhuman descriptions such as the above that piss me off about Wikipedia. Yes, that sentence describes what PostSecret is, but it doesn’t tell you what PostSecret is. Here’s my attempt:

“PostSecret is a dark room of other people, simultaneously screaming, smiling, shouting, sighing, saluting and salivating for secrets. PS is an online confessional booth for everyone from atheist millennials to god fearing baby boomers.”

Yet my description is equally inadequate. The best way for you to understand PostSecret is for you to experience it. Participate in it, scorn it and eventually discard it for predictability and falsehood. Do what you want with it, that’s what its there for.

I always relate it to myself. I scroll through it each Sunday morning and squeal with excitement when I see something I can relate to. Needless to say I get a lot of odd looks on Sunday mornings.

I squealed loudly today when I saw this one. I bet you all did. Selective memories and skewed perceptions make fools of us all. Sad, sorrowful fools.

PostSecret

Despite myself, I still miss it. I know I shouldn’t but don’t we all.

Leave a Reply

