The Guff

UNI Magazine? UNInteresting Magazine

In The Pile on March 25, 2011 at 7:09 pm

UNI Magazine

Several weeks ago I read about an upcoming magazine about to be launched within the region, UNI. The press release describes it as,

“a fun, smart, young and interactive monthly university English publication that fills a gap of what the UAE misses out in terms of powerful, appropriate and intelligent content-base, as well as related topics of concern to university students across all the prominent educational institutions in the country.”

Needless to say it sounded somewhat fantastic. I patiently awaited the first issue to be released so I could pore over it and pray it’d be everything it promised. A few days ago, I found out the magazine had launched. It launched on March 15th.

So, I headed over to the UNI website to check it out. Man was I disappointed.

I was expecting something like The National’s M Magazine, but what I got was much more like Emirates 24/7, written for kids by kids.

Reading this magazine makes me feel like i’m playing literature on easy mode. It just screams of “Hey, your 17, you like abbreviated words, similes, cartoon illustrations and disputable grammar. You like this!”.

I’m sorry UNI magazine, your not UNIque, your UNInteresting.

  1. P.l.e.a.s.e!!! Who still invests in something like that. And, horrah for the new “ism” — youth, young… I shut out whenever I hear this word which seems to be the new “black.”

    • I know right. I tried reading this article but gave up after I spotted the 4th basic typo.

      e.g “They store locations are usually clean”

      I’d be interested to see if any of these mistakes made it into the print edition as well.

Leave a Reply

