The Guff

Sunday Secrets: Perception

In The Pile on April 3, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Today is Sunday. That means we’re going to talk about PostSecret. What’s PostSecret? Find out here if you missed our first Sunday.

Now, I know last Sunday there was some confusion caused by Etisalat’s rather over-enthusiastic Internet censorship (read – the buggers blocked access to the site for some people). But I encourage you all to try and find work around solutions so you can view the site.

Here’s a quick list of potential fixes (based upon complete guesswork)

  1. Subscribe to the website’s RSS feed
  2. Use a browser based proxy like VTunnel
  3. Go to https://post instead of http:/post
  4. Fill in the Etisalat contact form for unfairly blocked webpages and hope it gets reviewed

I hope one of those patches works out for you. But on with the secret!

PostSecret

There were many other secrets I could have chosen today, but I want to buck the trend of negativity. I usually find life pretty damn disorientating and its unbelievably easy for me to wind-up thinking the whole world’s against me. It’s not though, its got bigger fish to fry.

Thankfully, the world is full of people much smarter than myself who are always on hand to pull the blinkers off my head and give me a good shake. Then things usually start looking an awful lot better, without anything actually changing. Last night however, I had the urge to do some blinker-breaking mindset shaking myself – I overheard an interesting conversation between two guests at a dinner party.

Drunk Dinner 1 – “Why is it that when you need something, it’s always empty!”

Drunk Dinner 2 – “Yeah! Or its not where you left it!”

Drunk Dinner 1 – “I come back from my weekly shop, arms laden with carrier-bags, put everything away in the fridge and then when I go to make myself a cup of tea, the kettle broke!”

Drunk Dinner 2 – etc.

Okay, I lied – it wasn’t interesting. It was damn insipid. We all hear similar things said all the time – but that doesn’t seem to stop us from saying it. It’s all about perspective at the end of the day. I once read a charming little anecdote that encapsulated the concept perfectly.

Today, while I was driving my grandfather to his doctor’s appointment, I complained about hitting 2 red lights in a row.  My grandfather chuckled and said, “You always complain about the red lights, but you never celebrate the green ones.”

We all have good days and bad days. I think we just need to make sure that we’re always around to shake each other up and dust ourselves down.

  1. Absolutely! It’s the case of the glass being half empty or half full. Life is so much more fun when it is half full… like the sunburn getting better loooool 🙂

    • It’s very easy to focus on the negative aspects of life, they’re the ones that stand out to us most e.g your sunburn :P. But sometimes we need someone to remind us of all those times we’ve gone outside and not been sunburned.

      It sounds corny, but that doesn’t make it any less true.

Leave a Reply

